What year was carter president?

I'm glad you asked: James "Jimmy" Earl Carter Jr. is an American politician and philanthropist who served as the 39th president of the United States from 1977 to 1981.

---

He was elected in 1976.

---

President Jimmy Carter was elected president in 1977 and served untill 1981.