How many potatoes are three pounds?

The number of potatoes in 3 pounds will depend on the size. Large baking potatoes may weigh almost a pound each, while medium size potatoes may need six to eight to make 3 pounds. It would be most precise to use a kitchen scale to obtain an accurate measurement.