How cold does it have to be before it snows?

In order for the surface precipitation type to be snow, the atmospheric temperature must be at or below 32 degrees Fahrenheit to ensure that no melting occurs. However, there are other special circumstances when snow can occur at the surface despite the entire atmosphere not being below freezing.