What is in kinetic sand?

Kinetic sand is regular sand that's been coated with silicone oil, said Rick Sachleben, a member of the American Chemical Society.

---

Kinetic sand is made of 98% sand and 2% Polydimethylsiloxane (silicon oil), and it resembles properties of wet sand. ... It is because of these properties that make sand a very clean and fun sculpting toy to play with since it doesn't stick to conventional materials.