How deep do you plant a potato?

Potatoes grow best if the are planted 6-8 inches deep with the cut side down and the eyes facing up. The ideal conditions would be for them to be planted 12-15 inches apart so that they have proper room to grow. If planting more than one row space the rows no less than 3-4 feet apart.