When did the vikings invade england?

The Vikings first invaded Britain in AD 793 and last invaded in 1066 when William the Conqueror became King of England after the Battle of Hastings. The first place the Vikings raided in Britain was the monastery at Lindisfarne, a small holy island located off the northeast coast of England.