Who sang summertime?

There are over 25,000 recordings of "Summertime" by George Gershwin. In September 1936, a recording by Billie Holiday was the 1st to hit the US pop charts, reaching #12. Others versions include those by Sam Cooke, The Marcels, Ricky Nelson, and Billy Stewart (reached 10 on Billboard Hot 100).