What is the movie spartacus about?

Spartacus is a 1960 American epic historical drama film directed by Stanley Kubrick, written by Dalton Trumbo, and based on the 1951 novel of the same title. It is about a slave named Spartacus who leads a rebellion against their Roman masters.