How many characters in the chinese alphabet?

There are over 50,000 known Chinese characters. However a modern dictionary will rarely list over the 20,000 currently in use.

---

There is no Chinese alphabet. Written Chinese does not use letters, but logographs: a different symbol for each word or syllable.