What is a polyp in your colon?

A polyp is an abnormal growth of tissue projecting from a mucous membrane, such as the colon, stomach, or nose. Polyps can be cancerous, pre-cancerous, or benign. Colon polyps are normally removed as a precaution during a colonoscopy