Where is mount pilot north carolina?

Believed to be the inspiration for the fictional town of Mount Pilot on The Andy Griffith Show and Mayberry RFD. Pilot Mountain is a town in Surry County, North Carolina, United States. It is named for the nearby landmark of Pilot Mountain, a distinctive geological formation.