Where is mount pilot north carolina?

Believed to be the inspiration for the fictional town of Mount Pilot on The Andy Griffith Show and Mayberry RFD. Pilot Mountain is a town in Surry County, North Carolina, United States. It is named for the nearby landmark of Pilot Mountain, a distinctive geological formation.

---

Mount Pilot, NC was a fictitious town invented for the Andy Griffith Show in the 1960's. I was loosely based on the real town of Pilot Mountain, which is north of Winston-Salem , NC on Highway 52. Just north of this is Mt. Airy, NC which was the inspiration for Maybery, NC.