When was the closet invented?

The closet as a separate room was invented in 1869. (The coat hanger, in fact, wasn't even invented until then). Before that, they used chests and dressers. Today the closet is enjoying a bit of a zenith, owing to the fact that many modern Americans own simply enormous amounts of clothes.