What is the tale of the donkey?

When Cherubino, a donkey who lives in Tuscany, is purchased by three tradesmen after his owner dies; they all overwork him in turn, but none of them want to feed him. After a series of suspenseful (and sometimes humorous) events, he is rescued by a kind family.