What is the steel in baseball?

A “steal” in baseball means an offensive player advances, but not as the result of a hit. This generally occurs when a pitcher is throwing a pitch, but it can also occur while the pitcher still has the ball or is attempting a pickoff, or as the catcher is throwing the ball back to the pitcher.