Why do people do yoga?

Yoga comes from word Yug meaning Union in sanskrit. Hatha yoga unites body work, asana & breath, with the intention of coming into a meditative state, where the physical, mental and emotional bodies come to a coherent union, promoting health and a quieter and more peaceful mind to the practitioner.