What's the difference between white balsamic and regular balsamic?

Restaurant chefs use white balsamic vinegar not only for its milder flavor, but also because it won't turn a salad dressing or sauce brown the way the regular stuff will. Regular balsamic vinegar is brown & has a stronger flavor.