Why are leaves important for trees?

Leaves are the vehicle by which a tree resperates, i.e. absorbes Co2 and gives off O2 as a metabolic function. Leaves are also the carriers of chloriphyl which produces sugars for the tree under the aegis of the sun's ultraviolet radiation.