What is the origin of the english word talent?

From Middle English talent, from Old English talente, borrowed from the plural of Latin talentum (“a Grecian weight; a talent of money”), from Ancient Greek (tálanton, “balance, a particular weight, especially of gold, sum of money, a talent”).