What's the difference between an english horn and a french horn?

The English horn is a straight woodwind instrument with a bulbous bell end. It has a woody melancholy sound. On the other hand, the French horn is a bold, powerful mellow sounding brass instrument. It's conical and has a cup-shaped mouthpiece.