Why are bulls attracted to the color red?

Actually, they aren't. Bulls, like all other cattle, are color-blind. Thus, the bull is irritated not by the cape's color, but by the cape's movement as the matador whips it around. The fact that a bull charges the matador's larger capote, which is pink and yellow, with equal fury supports this.