How can you tell how far lightning is from you?

The light from lightning reaches you almost instantly. The sound from the strike travels at 1000 feet per second (approx), thus if you hear the thunder 5 seconds after the lightning, the strike is about a mile away. If ten seconds later it would have been two miles away, etc.