What is the warrior gene?

The so-called warrior gene comprises variations in the X chromosome gene that produces monoamine oxidase A, an enzyme that affects the neurotransmitters dopamine, norepinephrine, and serotonin. The variants, known collectively as MAOA-L, produce human MAOA “knockouts” with a low level of the enzyme.