What does opposed to mean?

The phrase opposed to, is often used to describe a contrast, or a difference between two things. An example would be... 'I would rather have chicken for Thanksgiving as opposed to Turkey'. Another meaning of 'opposed to', is to be against something. Such as, I am opposed to junk phone calls.