Where were donuts made?

Donuts were invented in the US by Dutch settlers. Originally known as olykoek (or Oily Cakes). These early donuts had the right recipe, but didn't yet have the ring shape. Hanson Gregory, an American, claimed to have invented the ring-shaped doughnut in 1847.