Who did ronald reagan defeat to become president?

Ronald Wilson Reagan won 489 electoral votes to 49 for President Jimmy Carter in the November 1980 election. In 1984, Reagan and his vice president George Bush again won against Walter Mondale and Geraldine Ferraro.