How does composting work?

If handled properly, many scrap foods made of organic compounds can be decomposed and turned into soil. The process is called Composting, and involves proper storage of the food in compost bins, turning of the pile, moisture, oxygen and sometimes, a starter culture of bacteria or fungus.