Tell me a story about a gnome?

A poem excerpt by Gary Hill: Once upon a time At the bottom of my garden There lived a little gnome Who had got no home So I took him in And built a little house Where he lived Until the day he died His name was Fred But I called him Jim You should have seen The states that he had me in