How much obsidian does it take to make another portal?

You need 10 blocks of obsidian if you want to make the rectangular portal without the corners, with 2 blocks on top, 2 at the bottom and 3 on each side, or 14 blocks if you want to make the rectangular portal with the corners, yet there are more complex designs that requires more blocks