What does an electrical fire smell like?

Electrical fires tend to smell like burning plastic, so they have a telltale acrid odor. Others say the scent is reminiscent of fish. That said, electrical fires don't always produce an odor. In that case, you'd have to listen for a buzzing sound or check for a brown outlet cover.