How do you know a pear is ripe?

Pears ripen from the inside out, so you can't judge their ripeness by looking at the skin. To test if a pear is ripe, apply gentle pressure near the stem end. If it gives slightly, it's most likely ready to be eaten. Pears are one of the few fruits that don't ripen successfully on the tree.