Is cool whip lactose free?

All varieties of Cool Whip have long contained milk protein, making them off limits for those who are allergic to casein or who choose to live dairy-free. However, several varieties, including the Original Cool Whip, were lactose-free, and used by many people who are lactose intolerant.