Why do they call phoenix the valley?

Phoenix is described as "the valley" as it depicts the climate of the region. Lying in the Sonoran Desert, the city of Phoenix is extremely sunny and receives little rainfall in a year. Aside from that, the name also comes from the valley in which the city lies, that is, the Salt River Valley.