What does lame duck presidency mean?

In politics, a lame duck or outgoing politician is an elected official whose successor has already been elected or will be soon. The official is often seen as having less influence with other politicians due to their limited time left in office

---

"Lame duck" refers to a politician who is in power but will soon be replaced by a newly elected successor. Lame-duck presidents have been known to use this period to exercise some of their powers without as much concern about public opinion.