What is columbia?

Spelled C-O-L-O-M-B-I-A, Colombia is a country in the northwest of South America, where Panama connects to the continent. Spelled C-O-L-U-M-B-I-A, Columbia is the historical personification of the United States, after which the District of Columbia and the capital of South Carolina are named.