What does bleach do to leather?

The effect of bleach on leather is not good. Bleach can dry leather and it's oils, and discolor it's finish. The natural layer of defense leather has against wear and tear is eroded by chlorine bleach. Even if the leather is fully aniline-dyed when exposed to bleach, it can damage it.