Is soybean a nut?

Soy nuts are roasted soybeans, not true nuts. They look a lot like roasted peanuts, and both peanuts and soy nuts are legumes. Legumes are plants that have pods with multiple edible seeds. Tree nuts are single seeds surrounded by a hard shell.