How deep can a fish swim?

All fish have a preferred depth range, some deeper and some nearer the surface. But ocean-going fish can't live any deeper than 8200 meters, according to a new study that looked at a chemical called TMAO that prevents their cells from collapsing under pressure.

---

A fish can swim as deep as the lake it is in is, if he takes a great big breath.