Where does the sun get it's energy?

The sun, like most stars, creates energy through nuclear fusion. The sun converts 4 hydrogen atoms into 1 helium atom under extreme temperatures and pressures in its core - changing mass into energy - and producing the light we see and the heat we feel here on earth - nearly 93 million miles away.