What is the substitute for red wine vinegar?

Balsamic vinegar, white wine vinegar, apple cider vinegar, rice vinegar can all be substituted for red wine vinegar. However, it is recommended that you only add a little portion of any of these vinegars and see what difference it makes to your recipe.