Why is football called soccer in america?

Originally, there were two games called "football" in Britain: rugby and association football. The name of the latter was first shortened to "assoccer" and later to "soccer." While in Britain "soccer" was just a nickname, the Americans adopted it to distinguish between gridiron football and soccer.