Where is the great barrier reef in australia?

The Great Barrier Reef is the world's largest coral reef system composed of over 2,900 reefs and 900 islands covering 133,000 square miles with a length of over 1,400 miles. It is located in the Coral Sea, off the east coast of Queensland, Australia, beginning in the Torres Strait, extending south.