What's the difference between homogeny and hegemony?

Homogeny, spelled H-O-M-O-G-E-N-Y, is a biological term referring to a uniformity or sameness in structure despite differences in function. Hegemony, spelled H-E-G-E-M-O-N-Y, refers to dominance of one nation or social group over another.