What is the difference between isopropyl and ethyl alcohol?

Isopropyl alcohol is generally safer than ethanol unless you spill large amounts of it on your skin, which can result in itching, cracking and redness. Ethanol is more dehydrating and causes skin discomfort whereas isopropyl alcohol evaporates faster.

---

isopropyl is safer of the two ethyl alcohol is added to most gas in North America