When was the first case of smallpox?

The earliest evidence of smallpox was found on mummies from the 18th Egyptian dynasty, which began about 1550 B.C. A more specific date of 1157 B.C. was established by the mummy of Pharaoh Ramses V. Any earlier date has not been determined.