What is an electric jewel?

Joule, unit of work or energy in the International System of Units; it is equal to the work done by a force of one newton acting through one metre. In electrical terms, the joule equals one wattsecond—i.e., the energy released in one second by a current of one ampere through a resistance of one ohm.