What are your fingernails made of?

Fingernails and toenails are made of a tough protective protein called alpha-keratin.

---

A nail is a horn-like keratinous envelope covering the tips of the fingers and toes. Fingernails are composed of dead skin cells produced by the matrix underneath the nail bed. These cells are primarily made of a protein called keratin, which is also found in your hair.