What are the brown spots on cauliflower?

A scattering of pale brown spots on the cauliflower curds isn't all that abnormal, and it doesn't necessary mean it's time to ditch that newly purchased veggie. The culprit for this discoloration is oxidation, which happens naturally the longer cauliflower is stored.