Is south america in north america connected?

Yes, North and South America are two continents with a connecting isthmus. The connecting isthmus is a strip of land that connects the two continents together. The man-made Panama canal cuts through the Panama Isthmus, but underneath the canal and via bridges, the continents are still connected.

---

No. Central America is in between.