What controls the body temperature?

Internal body temperature is regulated by a part of our brain called the hypothalamus. The hypothalamus checks the current temperature and compares it with the normal temperature of about 37°C. If the temperature is too low, the hypothalamus makes sure that the body generates and maintains heat.