What happens if you drink expired coffee?

Most coffee has a Best by date, not an expiration date. Generally speaking, coffee that is beyond any date printed on the packaging is safe to drink but you may experience loss of color, aroma, and quality of taste depending on how it was stored, whether it was opened previously, and age.